La La Land – Review

So, I’m sat here having just finished my introductory blog post and I’m already itching to write a new one. And I watched La La Land last night, and since my blog name is literally based off the first song of the film, (Ey? Did you get that? Eyyyyyy!) and my obsession with this film is one of my defining features, it’s as good a place as any to start.

You can probably tell, but I love this film. Like, I really love it. I didn’t think I would – I tried to see it once in the local cinema, and it was sold out, and I lost all interest. Until I went to Strasbourg with my Other Half, (I can never decide the word I want to use when talking about Guy. I think they’re all kind of gross. I’ll just say Guy, his name’s Guy.) and we were bored one evening, a minute’s walk away from 2 cinemas. We chose one, we were the first people in there, and watched the film.

So, here’s another thing about me, I can’t watch films. Like, I cannot follow films, at all. I can try my best but I’m so easily distracted, I couldn’t recall a single film plot of anything I’ve watched in the last 5 years. Even with Harry Potter, which I’ve seen literally over a hundred times, I struggle to recall what the actual plot is.

With La La Land though, weirdly, I was totally hooked. Like, I haven’t experienced anything like it. The group next to us chatted loudly throughout the entire film, and the last person to sit down in the cinema was literally one of the tallest men I’ve ever seen and out of hundreds of empty seats chose the one directly in front of me. Usually this would drive me nuts – but I was so obsessed with this movie, I barely noticed. I literally can’t stress how weird this is for me – I have never, ever, ever been able to focus on a film like this. Maybe it was because of the relief of hearing the first bit of English in about 4 days, thinking back on it. But I like musicals anyway, and I like Ryan Gosling, so it could have been the film.

Anyway, if you haven’t seen it, watch it. I think every shot is great, you’ll watch it and think every other shot is poster-worthy. Unless you like crying through films. Have you seen the ending? Jesus. Like, Jesus. It would have been less sad if they had both died. My heart breaks just thinking about it. I feel myself welling up every time I think about that bit at the end where Seb plays that song, and Mia walks up to him to tell him how much she enjoys his music and he just kisses her – and I’m actually crying. Writing that has made me actually cry. Tragic.

And it’s not pretty crying either, it’s snotty, hyperventilating, blotchy, hide-your-face ugly crying. Every time I watch it. For hours. I love it. The first time I watched this film I woke up in the night in tears because I was so sad. But it came out on DVD on Monday, and I bought it on Blu-Ray which I don’t usually bother with, and I watched it again, and I loved it just as much as I did the first time.

I don’t know how to write film reviews without revealing the entire plot, but just watch it. Just watch this film!

My rating: 2/5 stars. 

LOL JK, 5/5 obviously. I nearly left it like that but I couldn’t. Its a 5 star film.

 

Leave a Reply

