For the Birds – Review

Guy and I decided on a little date night tonight, which was nice and a pretty rare occurrence. We had seen this big billboard poster for something called “For the Birds”, but it didn’t really have any information, so we checked it out online, which didn’t really have any information, but it looked pretty mysterious so we booked tickets. We found out that it was basically a sculpture, light and sound show but we had no idea what to expect. 

The tickets made me a bit nervous, as they aren’t… so clear with timings and places etc. – as you essentially grab a bus from the Asda (not very mysterious.) But it was cool, you wait around in queues for a while and then you arrive at the destination and follow a trail of fairy lights.

The thing is, I’m not so good at just… looking at things, which made me worry if I would like it. If it’s something I’m really interested in, or something beautiful or really interactive, then I love it. And it actually was really interesting! You are led around the forest by lights, noises and sculptures, some of which are robotic, some use clever light trickery, some are just spinning so fast they become a sound show as well. Each light is meticulously placed so the walkers get the best out of the show, as you are entertained by a range of different noises and lights.

I didn’t know what to expect with this, but I was quite pleasantly surprised! The lights were beautiful, and every time I thought the show was over, there was a little more to come. The only problem is – and it’s something I should have expected – is that it is posho-centralĂ©. We had to watch three spivs argue over and then all agree that the i360 was Worthing Pier. Unbelievable.

Lovely though, really nice show.

My Rating: 4/5 stars.

Leave a Reply

